IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPOINTMENT OF THE MERIT SELECTION PANEL

General Order 2008-8

In accordance with Section 3.01 of the regulations of the Judicial Conference of the United States Establishing Standards and Procedures for the Appointment and Reappointment of a part-time United States Magistrate Judge for the Western Slope of Colorado, it is

)

)

ORDERED that the following persons are appointed as the Merit Selection Panel to recommend to the Court for nomination individuals whose character, experience, ability and commitment to equal justice under the law fully qualify them to serve as a part-time United States Magistrate Judge.

Betty Bechtel, Esq. *(Chair)* Scott M. Balcomb, Esq. Robert White, Esq. Jeanette Finlayson William Prakken, Esq. Kirk Rider, Esq. John Hopkins

The panel will perform the duties prescribed by Section 3.03 of the regulations and pursuant to Section 3.04, shall submit their report to the Court on or before September 4, 2008, specifying the five nominees the panel has determined as best qualified, attaching all written information received by or prepared by the panel concerning the recommended nominees.

DATED this 6th day of June, 2008, at Denver, Colorado.

BY THE COURT:

Juwase W Natturge an

Edward W. Nottingham Chief Judge

I certify that I sent a copy of amended Administrative Order 2000-5 on August 17, 2000, to the following:

Judge Richard P. Matsch Judge John L. Kane, Jr. Judge Zita L. Weinshienk Judge Edward W. Nottingham Judge Daniel B. Sparr Judge Wiley Y. Daniel Judge Walker D. Miller

Chief Bankruptcy Judge Marcia S. Krieger Bankruptcy Judge Charles E. Matheson Bankruptcy Judge Sidney B. Brooks Bankruptcy Judge Donald E. Cordova

Magistrate Judge Bruce D. Pringle Magistrate Judge O. Edward Schlatter Magistrate Judge Patricia A. Coan Magistrate Judge Michael J. Watanabe Magistrate Judge Boyd N. Boland Magistrate Judge James M. Robb

Robert Hoecker, Circuit Executive James R. Manspeaker, Clerk, U.S. District Court Brad Bolton, Clerk, U.S. Bankruptcy Court Richard Miklic, Chief Probation Officer

Leonidas Ralph Mecham, Director Administrative Office of the United States Courts Thurgood Marshall Federal Judiciary Building One Columbus Circle, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20544

Thomas Hnatowski, Chief Magistrate Judges Division Administrative Office of the United States Courts Thurgood Marshall Federal Judiciary Building One Columbus Circle, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20544 Mr. John W. Groves Groves & Price PC 619 Main Street, Suite170 Grand Junction, Colorado 81501

Mr. Thomas H. Shipps Maynes Bradford Shipps & Sheftel 835 E. 2nd Avenue, Suite 123 Durango, Colorado 81301

Mr. Scott M. Balcomb Balcomb & Green PC Post Office Box 790 Glenwood Springs, Colorado 81602

Mr. William Lohring 1973 Frontage Road Fruita, Colorado 81521

The Honorable Amanda D. Bailey 21st Judicial District Court 544 Rood Avenue, Suite 200 Grand Junction, Colorado 81501

Ms. Shirley Bauer 11758 County Road 27.3 Dolores, Colorado 81323

Mr. James T. Moran Holland & Hart LLP 600 E. Main Street, Suite104 Aspen, Colorado 81611

JAMES R. MANSPEAKER, CLERK

By:_

Brenda Martinez-Cobos, Deputy Clerk