The United States District Court
District of Colorado

Hon. Philip A. Brimmer, Chief Judge
Jeffrey P. Colwell Esq., Clerk of Court

Our mission is to serve the public by providing a fair and impartial forum that ensures equal access to justice in accordance with the rule of law, protects rights and liberties of all persons, and resolves cases in a timely and efficient manner.

Attorney Discipline Information

Under Local Rule D.C.COLO.LAttyR 2, Standards of Professional Conduct, attorneys practicing before this Court must follow the professional responsibility standards as set forth in the Colorado Rules of Professional Conduct adopted by the Colorado Supreme Court on April 12, 2007, and effective January 1, 2008. With limited exceptions, those rules were adopted by the court on October 15, 2007. The limited exceptions are reflected in D.C.COLOR.LAttyR 2(b).

Attorney discipline in matters before the Court is governed by the local rules of practice of the court, specifically D.C.COLO.LAttyR 7, Complaints and Grounds for Discipline. The Court has established a Disciplinary Panel comprised of three district judges that has jurisdiction over all judicial proceedings involving disbarment, suspension, censure, or other lawyer discipline. The U.S. District Court has also established a standing Committee on Conduct comprised of 12 members of this court’s bar. The Committee is charged with receiving, investigating, considering, and acting upon complaints against members of the bar, applications for reinstatement or readmission, allegations that a member of this court’s bar is incapable of practicing law due to physical or mental disability or substance abuse, and other similar matters concerning attorneys.

Designation of Court Disciplinary Panel

Committee on Conduct Appointment Order - October 2023

Application for Reinstatement to the Bar

Under D.C.COLO.LAttyR 12(b) - Public Matters, orders by the Disciplinary Panel for admission, reinstatement, readmission, relief from the rule of good standing, disability inactive status, censure, suspension, disbarment, and dismissal after a response shall be accessible to the public and, accordingly, are published on this website. A link to individual published opinions is provided below.

Order of Reinstatement of Mary J. Thompson
Public Censure and Discipline of Attorney Douglas L. Romero
Order Denying Application for Reinstatement Re: Stuart Adam Jay
Order of Reinstatement of William J. Hunsaker
Order of Reinstatement of Marc H. Schtul
Order Denying Application for Reinstatement of Howard W. Rubinstein
Order of Reinstatement of Brad Douglas Redmiles
Order of Reinstatement of Paul T. Gefreh
Order of Reinstatement of Martin Joseph Hecker
Order of Reinstatement of Marshall Scott Meyers
Order of Reinstatement of Peter Strojnik
Public Censure and Discipline of Christopher J. Pooley
Order of Reinstatement of Gabriel Stefu
Order of Disbarment of Micah Jared Smith
Order of Reinstatement of Thomas J. Lyons, Jr.
Order Denying Petition for Post-Deprivation Hearing for Robert Henry Copier
Order of Reinstatement of Derry Dale Sadler
Order of Reinstatement of Karim John Tannous
Conditional Admission of Misconduct and Discipline of Nick Wimmershoff
Order of Reinstatement and Relief from the Rule of Good Standing of Philip M. Falco, III
Order of Reinstatement of Joseph C. Coleman
Order of Reinstatement of Robert Mark Grossman
Order of Reinstatement of David J. Mahalek
Order of Reinstatement of Gabriel Nathan Schwartz
Conditional Admission of Misconduct and Discipline of Robert C. Reade
Order of Reinstatement of Jim Salvator
Order of Reinstatement of Arron Burt Nesbitt
Order Denying Reinstatement and Disbarring Counsel Robert John Corry
Order of Reinstatement of Robert E. Abrams
Order Denying Reinstatement and Denying Relief from the Rule of Good Standing of Michael Lawrence
Order of Reinstatement of James S. Oliver Jr.
Order Denying Relief from the Rule of Good Standing of Youras Ziankovich
Order of Reinstatement of Salvatore Scanio
Order of Reinstatement of Mark Gregory Lukehart
Richard P. Liebowitz Admission of Misconduct and Suspension
Order of Reinstatement of Nirav M. Jamindar
Order of Reinstatement of Robert Jason Herrera
Order of Disbarment of L. Lin Wood, Jr.


Complaints and Grounds for Discipline

Secretary to the Committee on Conduct 
Office of the Clerk, United States District Court 
Alfred A Arraj Courthouse 
901 19th Street, Room A-105 
Denver, CO  80294-3589 

Complaints should not be addressed to any individual judge or the court's Disciplinary Panel. 

Procedures regarding filing complaints, and other attorney discipline rules, are located under Section V, Attorney Discipline, of the Attorney Rules for the District of Colorado, located HERE.