The United States District Court
District of Colorado

Hon. Marcia S. Krieger, Chief Judge
Jeffrey P. Colwell Esq., Clerk of Court

Our mission is to serve the public by providing a fair and impartial forum that ensures equal access to justice in accordance with the rule of law, protects rights and liberties of all persons, and resolves cases in a timely and efficient manner.

Jury Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Jury General Information

Jury Service

Jury Fees

What types of cases are tried in federal court?

Both civil and criminal cases are tried in U.S. District Courts. The specific kinds of cases are set forth in Article III of the U.S. Constitution and in federal statutes. These are controversies to which the United States is a party and controversies between two or more States. The federal courts also decide cases involving constitutional rights, laws enacted by Congress, treaties, and laws relating to navigable waters. Suits between citizens of different states may be heard in the U.S. courts only if the amount in controversy exceeds $75,000.00. Typical Criminal charges in a federal court are those involving violation of income tax and narcotics laws, mail theft, crimes committed on federal property, and counterfeiting. The federal criminal code, including offenses involving violent crimes, property, drugs, firearms and explosives, sexual crimes, immigration and justice system offenses.

What is a petit jury?

A trial jury is also called a petit jury. This is a group of selected jurors people who determine any question or issue of fact in a civil or criminal trial according to law and the evidence introduced at the trial.

Where did you get my name for jury service?

This court randomly selects jurors from voter registration lists, driver license records and Colorado state adult issued identification records, by means of a computerized method.

What happens if I fail to report for jury service?

Failure to respond or report may lead the court to issue an order to the United States Marshal to have you brought before a judge to explain your noncompliance. Any person who fails to show good cause for noncompliance with a summons may be subject to a fine up to $1000, imprisonment up to three days, community service, or any combination thereof.

If you are unable to report for jury service or need to be excused because of a hardship, you must request an excuse in writing on the qualification questionnaire. If you have already submitted your questionnaire, or to provide additional information, send an email with your full name and 9 digit participant number to Jury_Clerk@cod.uscourts.gov.

Who is considered "qualified" for jury service?

To be qualified for jury service, a person must be a citizen of the United States; at least 18 years of age; able to read, write, speak, and understand the English language; and must reside in Colorado and in one of the counties within the jury division in which he or she is being summoned.

Persons who may not serve as jurors include those who have pending felony criminal charges which may be punishable by more than one year in prison; have been convicted of a felony without having their civil rights restored; have a permanent physical or mental disability that would prevent service as a juror; or hold certain occupations (full-time military, police, firefighters, and elected public officials).

How long do I serve on a jury?

Petit or trial jurors are on-call for a one month term of service or occasionally longer depending on the court's jury needs. This does not mean that you will serve on juries for an entire one month period. It only means that, during the one month "on-call" period, you may be selected and ordered to report for service. If selected as a juror in a case, you will serve on that case until it is completed. Once you have served on a jury you will be excused for the remainder of your service.

How will I know when to report for jury service?

You are to call the jury recording at (800) 359-8699 as instructed on your jury summons. If the jury recording states that you have been selected to report, then you must report as instructed. For security purposes, jurors will be required to show a government issued photo ID before entering the courthouse. If you have not been selected to report, the recording will state that, and may remind you of your next date to call the recording.

If asked to report, how many hours will I be at the courthouse each day?

Normal trial hours run from approximately 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., with two fifteen minute breaks (one in the morning and the other in the afternoon) and an hour lunch. During a trial, the number of hours will vary each day. The trial judge will advise you when to leave and report back each day.

What if I am late?

Please do not be late! It is extremely important to be prompt both in the morning and after lunch. Promptness is most important when serving on a trial since the entire proceeding will be delayed because of the tardiness of just one juror. Call the Jury Division at (303) 844-3924 should this become an issue.

Will I ever have to spend the night?

It is unlikely that you will ever be required to spend the night. However, jurors who reside 50 or more miles from the courthouse are eligible to receive reimbursement if they choose to stay overnight in a hotel. A hotel receipt is required for reimbursement.

Hotel reimbursement rates are as follows:
Denver: $149 per night (Dec. 2016 - Jan. 2017) or $178 per night (Feb. - Sept. 2017)
Durango: $102 per night (Dec. 2016 - May 2017) and $152 per night (June - Sep. 2017)
Grand Junction & Pueblo: $91 per night

In addition, jurors who reside 50 or more miles from the courthouse will receive the applicable meals and incidental expenses (M&IE) rate. The current M&IE rates are as follows:
Denver: $69 per day
Durango: $64 per day
Grand Junction & Pueblo: $51 per day

When do I report for jury service?

The jury summons that you received provides information as to your term of jury service. The summons also instructions you to call the jury recording for reporting instructions so you know whether or not you are selected to report.

From what counties are jurors summoned?

The United States District Court for the District of Colorado summons jurors from the entire state. The state is divided into four jury divisions.

JURY DIVISION ONE

Adams Arapahoe Boulder Broomfield
Chaffee Clear Creek Denver Douglas
Elbert Gilpin Grand Jackson
Jefferson Lake Larimer Logan
Morgan Park Phillips Sedgwick
Summit
Washington Weld Yuma
         

 

JURY DIVISION TWO

Archuleta Conejos  Dolores Hinsdale  
La Plata Mineral  Montezuma Ouray 
Rio Grande  San Juan San Miguel    

 

JURY DIVISION THREE

Delta Eagle Garfield Gunnison
Mesa
Moffat
Montrose Pitkin
Rio Blanco Routt

 

JURY DIVISION FOUR

Alamosa Baca Bent Cheyenne
Costilla
Crowley Custer El Paso
Fremont Huerfano Kiowa Kit Carson
Las Animas Lincoln Otero Prowers
Pueblo Saguache Teller

 

 

If I serve on a jury, how long will it be before I can be called again?

You are not required to serve on a federal court jury within a two-year time span. If you are selected before the two years has elapsed, you may request an excuse based on your prior service (i.e. selected to report; selected for a trial or grand jury service) with the U.S. District Court. You can still be summoned for jury duty in state and municipal courts, as those systems are separately and independently organized and managed by the state and local government entities.

On the days that I am not asked to report, what do I do?

When the jury recording states that you are not selected to report for service, continue with your normal schedule. Follow the instructions on your jury summons for any remaining dates to call for reporting instructions.

What are grounds for requesting a permanent excuse and how do I request one?

You can request an excuse if:

  1. you are disabled with a permanent or chronic condition that prevents you from serving. (A doctor's note is required. It may be faxed to 303-335-2714 or emailed to jury_clerk@cod.uscourts.gov. Please include your 9 digit participant number.)
  2. you have served as a grand or petit juror in any court within the last two years.
  3. you are a person over 70 years of age,
  4. you are a person who is essential to the care of a child or children under ten years of age
  5. you are a person who is essential to the care of an aged or infirm person,
  6. you are a person who resides outside the jury division from which you were summoned.
  7. you are a person who serves without compensation as a volunteer fire fighter or a member of a rescue squad or ambulance crew for a federal, state, or local government agency, or
  8. you are a person employed as a federal law enforcement officer with arresting authority.
  9. if there is any other reason or undue hardship that would prevent you from serving as a juror in which the court would require additional information. If your situation falls within category (9), please be specific. Excuses must be submitted by the date specified on your written instructions.

You must request the excuse ELECTRONICALLY when completing the questionnaire online or IN WRITING when submitting the questionnaire by return mail to the court. Please submit the request by the date specified in your written instructions. Allow time for your request to be received and reviewed by the court. The court will send you confirmation as to its decision electronically if you provide your e-mail address, or by mail. You are on-call for jury service until you hear otherwise from the court.

What are grounds for requesting a temporary excuse and how do I request one?

Temporary excuses can be granted for many types of temporary hardships, such as established vacation plans, temporary medical problems, students who are at college, economic or family hardships, etc. You must request the temporary excuse ELECTRONICALLY when completing the questionnaire online or IN WRITING. Please submit by the date specified in your written instructions. Allow time for your request to be received and reviewed by the court. The court will send you confirmation electronically if you provide your e-mail address or by mail as to its decision. You will remain on-call for service until you hear otherwise from the court.

What are grounds for requesting a partial excuse and how do I request one?

You must request the temporary excuse ELECTRONICALLY when completing the questionnaire online or IN WRITING. Please submit by the date specified in your written instructions. Allow time for your request to be received and reviewed by the court. The court will send you confirmation electronically if you provide your e-mail address or by mail as to its decision. You will remain on-call for service until you hear otherwise from the court.

Does my employer have to pay me my normal wages if I am serving on a jury?

Federal law does not require employers to pay your salary during your jury service. However, many employers have policies which stipulate what they are willing or not willing to pay employees while they are serving. Please check with your employer as to the company policy regarding jury service.

Can my employer terminate me for not being at work due to jury service?

No. You have employment protection rights as a federal juror.

If an employer is paying a juror's wages during service, what portion of court payment to the juror should the juror pay to the employer?

When a juror is paid, a voucher will be issued to the juror with payment categorizing the elements of the payment. The juror should settle payment directly with the employer.

CLICK HERE FOR EMPLOYEE RIGHTS INFO

How much will I be paid for jury service?

You will be paid an attendance fee of $40.00 per day, plus transportation expenses of $0.535 per mile from your home to the court house. We do not offer bus passes, but the $0.535 per mile from your home to the courthouse usually covers the amount required for bus fare. In addition, we also reimburse for parking, up to $15.00 per day.

Where should I park?

There are several downtown parking lots located conveniently near the courthouse. Commercial parking lots are located southeast and north of the courthouse between 19th, 22nd, California and Champa Streets. Since court may continue past 5:00 p.m. you should avoid parking in lots where an attendant keeps your keys and/or the lot closes at 5:00 p.m. DO NOT PARK AT A METER. Park at an all-day lot. Please bring change for the lots. Parking reimbursement is up to $15.00 day, which generally will be paid at the end of your service, in conjunction with your juror attendance fee.

CLICK FOR PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION INFORMATION

Note: This information is furnished for your convenience and does not constitute an endorsement of any transportation service.

If I live far from the courthouse, can I stay overnight before I have to report and how much do you reimburse for overnight accommodations?

Jurors who reside 50 or more miles from the courthouse are eligible to receive lodging reimbursement if they choose to stay overnight in a hotel. A hotel receipt is required for reimbursement.

Hotel reimbursement rates are as follows:
Denver: $149 per night (Dec. 2016 - Jan. 2017) or $178 per night (Feb. - Sept. 2017)
Durango: $102 per night (Dec. 2016 - May 2017) and $152 per night (June - Sep. 2017)
Grand Junction & Pueblo: $91 per night

Jurors are responsible for making their own hotel accommodations. Some hotels may offer a government rate for jurors who show their jury summons as proof. All jurors are expected to checkout the morning of their last day of service. Should you have questions, contact the Jury Division by email at Jury-Clerk@cod.uscourts.gov or call toll free (844) 641-6610.

CLICK HERE FOR HOTEL INFORMATION

Note: This information is furnished for your convenience and does not constitute an endorsement of any accommodation service.

Are meals provided?

Meals are not provided. You may bring your lunch if you wish; however, we do not have a refrigerator for your use. There are several restaurants located near the courthouse. If you are selected to serve on a jury, the judge will order meals be provided during the jury's deliberations.

May I bring my children, spouse or a friend?

Please do not bring your children to the courthouse. The court does not have child care facilities available. There are no adequate means of caring for children in the court environment. There is additional limited seating in the jury assembly room for any companion who has escorted you to the courthouse.

Do you reimburse for child care while I am on jury service?

No. Child care expenses are not reimbursed.

Is there a dress code?

Business attire is suitable. Denim jeans, shorts, t-shirts and hats are not appropriate.

Where can I get something to eat or drink?

There are vending machines located in the jury assembly room.

Should I call before coming to the courthouse?

Yes! Prior to reporting, please call the jury recording as instructed on your summons. You will not be paid any fees if you appear on a day on which you were not directed to appear.

What will the jury recording tell me?

Follow the prompts to hear your reporting instructions. You will need your 9 digit participant number, located on your summons above your address. The jury recording will indicate whether you have been selected to report for service. If you have, it will state the date, time and location to report.

What are the hours and telephone numbers of the jury recording?

The jury recording is turned on at 3:30 p.m. every Friday (unless otherwise stated on your jury summons). The recording is on 24 hours per day and throughout the weekend.

What if I cannot get through to the jury recording the first time?

If you cannot get through to the jury recording the first time you call, try calling back at a later time. The jury recording is available 24 hours a day, and remains on throughout the weekend. You can reach the jury recording at (800) 359-8699.

How do I obtain information on public transportation?

CLICK FOR PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION INFORMATION

Note: This information is furnished for your convenience and does not constitute an endorsement of any transportation service.

How can I be reached by my family in the event of an emergency?

Family members may reach you by calling the Jury Division at (844) 641-6610 or (303) 844-3924.

How do I notify the court over the weekend in the event of an emergency?

If you have an emergency over the weekend that will prevent you from appearing for service, you should contact the jury division at (303) 844-3924 or (844) 641-6610 as soon as possible. You can leave a message if necessary.

 

 BrowseAloud